Coordinator: Mr Marias


Debating is one of Alex’s most prominent and celebrated cultures. We have numerous teams in each age group (Grade 8, Junior, Senior) which face rival schools in the Pietermaritzburg Debating League such as Hilton College, Epworth, TWC, Maritzburg College and St Annes.
Teams consist of three students each. Teams take turns speaking. I.e.: Proposition team first speaker, then opposition first speaker, then proposition second speaker and so on. Each speaker has a unique role to play in edging their team onwards to victory.
Debates are adjudicated objectively by teachers and independent adjudicators from numerous schools that are a part of the league.
Alex has a long and proud heritage in the Pietermaritzburg Debating League. We have won the Pietermaritzburg Grand Finals numerous times in all age groups and frequently have speakers ranking in the city’s top 3.
Many of our speakers have been selected to represent the city in the invitation-only KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Tournament and also participate in other inter-league tournaments.
Alex also boasts a number of speakers who have represented the province at a national level, at the South African National School’s Debating Championship. Luyanda Mfeka, Fika Olwam Nqeto, Thishin Moodley and Tyrese Makosa are among the most noteworthy. In 2010 Thishin Moodley (Grade 9 at the time) received the National Junior Best Speaker award at the South African National School’s Debating Championship for being the top ranked speaker in the country for the Junior division.
Each team receives training twice a week and debates every fortnight during the season.
Our current coach, Thishin Moodley, is a former student of the school and is also the Head Coach of KwaZulu-Natal Debating and the Chairperson of the KwaZulu-Natal Schools’ Debating Association.